Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Looking for a small, low rpm, higher torque motor. Help please?

Madsalts

Sep 25, 2014
I'm looking for a motor to put in an array of four other motors to be run for a long time, and off of a computer power supply. I'm looking for one that can, for all intents and purposes, go "infinitely" slow, by limiting current with a potentiometer (does such a thing even exist?)

At most, I'd want it to be about 30 rpm. I saw some for sale that rate 30 rpm at 12 volts. If I were to use such a motor (I'll provide the dealer info if asked, I don't know if that's permitted) with a computer power supply (most are in the neighborhood of 19 V), I'm guessing that I could slow it to 30 RPM w/ the potentiometer. I wonder if I could run it at 19 V, or if this would burn it out. Is amperage even a concern if I'm going to use a computer power supply? If so, what parameters would I look at? (I'm an electronics novice). I'd want the motors to be of moderate to high torque, as they'd be used for a grinding application.

Speaking of burning out, the motor must be able to run for hours without a fan, or have an integral fan.

I'm hoping that the motors will be simple (not having many extraneous wires to which I'd have to hook capacitors, etc. to get them to work) and be about $ 25 or less. Thanks.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi and welcome to Electronics Point :)

Sounds like you need a stepper motor with a gearbox.

Controlling motor speed with a potentiometer is inaccurate, especially if the load varies. A stepper motor can be controlled precisely for any speed you want, though you'll need a suitable stepper motor driver circuit. These are available for 12V DC supply.

I don't have any specific suggestions, but I'm sure Google does, now that you know what to look for.

donkey

Feb 26, 2011