Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Mini Nano ARM DSO201 Handheld Pocket Size Digital Storage Oscilloscope

Paul Lockwood

Dec 1, 2014
Hi

I'm sure that the more experienced who see the subject title may already be saying why post about this rubbish.
However I'm fairly new to electronics and I know you get what you pay for and I would guess that most people wouldn't even look at an Oscilloscope that wasn't 3 figures in value if not heading towards 4 figures.

Never even used an Oscilloscope before so I have no idea on what the limitations on this would be.

In plain English terms for someone who may well be lost with the first thing you say could someone tell me what use I could use the Item for and where I would hit the limitations of the device.

I've copied the specs over from one of the sites I could see them on.

SainSmart DS0201 is a pocket size digital storage oscilloscope fulfills basic electronic engineering requirements. It is based on ARMCortex™-M3 compatible 32 bit platform, equipped with 320*240 color display, SD card capability, USB connection, and chargeable batteries. Weighs only 60g! Portable Digital Oscilloscope DIY Kit provides waveform viewing, pocket size and over 2 hours battery operation.

Features

* DSO NANO Hardware 1.6 + Paul's Firmware 1.5
* Super portable and lightweight
* 2.8" color 320*240 display
* Basic 1Msps sample rate with 12bit resolution
* Various measurement markers
* Various trigger mode
Specifications

Display: 2.8″ Color TFT LCD
Display Resolution: 320×240
Display Color: 65K
Analog bandwidth: 0 - 1MHz
Max sample rate: 1Msps 12Bits
Sample memory depth: 4096 Point
Horizontal sensitivity: 1uS/Div~10S/Div (1-2-5 Step)
Horizontal position: adjustable with indicator
Vertical sensitivity: 10mV/Div~10V/Div (with ×1 probe)
0.5V/Div~10V/Div (with ×10 probe)
Vertical position: Adjustable with indicator
Input impedance: >500KΩ
Max input voltage: 80Vpp (by ×1 probe)
Coupling: DC
Trig modes: Auto, Norma, Single, None and Scan