Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Modular Controller build with Arduino (Teensy 3.5)

solsnare

Dec 23, 2017
Hello all!

New to this forum so please excuse any formatting issues.

Anyways, here's a picture for starters:

Modular_Board_Concept_Diagram2.png

FYI, I'm not an electric engineer, very little understanding of circuity apart from fundamentals.
I'm a code monkey :p

OK, if the picture wasn't descriptive enough of the problem.

I just want to essentially make a way to jump through a bunch of buttons that i connect to a "controller" module, without knowing HOW many of these buttons are gonna be set up in sequence. This means that i can't use the multiplexer, I COULD just forward all the outputs of the controller to each button, but i think it would be more efficient to just use a single digital pin on the teensy to figure out the states of all my buttons by performing some sort of logical loop in my arduino software.

Any ideas on how i'd do this?
Thanks!

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You could use an analog input line using different resistor values for each switch and then just do a calculation to determine which has been pressed.

This doesn't allow for multiple button presses where confusion would reign.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
You have more or less described HOW you want to DO something, i.e., proposed a solution, but I don't see anything that describes WHAT you want to DO. There may be other, maybe simpler, solutions.