Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Momentary closure (20ms), wait 1 second, and momentary close (20ms)

BBourdage

Feb 10, 2013
I need a RGB chasing light string to run a certain pattern, I have not been able to get any of the controllers to run the exact pattern unless I press and release the on button, wait 1 second, and then press and release the on button again. I am able to solder across the on button matrix pretty easily.

Can anyone think of a simple solution for this ?. I need to have 4 individual strings controlled like this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Barry

BBourdage

Feb 10, 2013
I am using the dc 99 controller, what programmer do you use that will do that many outputs ?

pwdixon

Oct 14, 2012
As you are using a predesigned controller you'll be trapped by whatever sequence control that controller allows. Sorry I have no experience of these controllers, I would have been able to comment if you were designing your own controller.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
I would use a reed relay, driven by a transistor that is driven by a monostable (e.g. a 555) in such a way that it activates the relay briefly on both positive and negative changes on the monostable output.

You press a button to trigger the monostable; the transistor activates the relay briefly. After a second, the monostable times out and activates the transistor and the relay briefly again.

Any words here you're not familiar with, look them up on Wikipedia.

I'll draw up a circuit design if you want to go ahead with the idea.

BBourdage

Feb 10, 2013
This sounds like exactly what I am looking for.

A design would be great, thank you very much !

Barry

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Nov 28, 2011
What power supply voltage(s) are available? 12V would be good

KrisBlueNZ

Nov 28, 2011
attachment.php

Here's a nice simple circuit that should do what you want.