Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Monster USB charger

Justinicus

Jan 17, 2014
Alright, folks. I'm a beginner electronicist, and I'm hoping you Elmers out there can give me some advice.

I'm well and truly sick of paying ~$20 for USB chargers claiming to supply 2A @ 5VDC to my myriad phones, tablets, cameras, etc., but delivering 700mA on a good day. I'm sick of not being able to find something that will charge two phones and three tablets simultaneously. I'm sick of USB power meters cutting the current flow in half when I put them into the circuit. In short... MOAR POWWWAAAAH! So I decided to take matters into my own hands.

I want to build my own USB charger. I know about the the various data pin resistor schemes for the USB charging standard, Samsung, and Apple (at least I think I do). I bought a 5VDC 20A switching power supply from ChinaBay, and have some perfboard, USB-A PCB-mount jacks, and a volt/ammeter on the way. My intention is to keep it pretty simple... volt meter across the DC + & - terminals, ammeter in line before the DC - return, and about 4-ea android- and apple-spec voltage divider/resistor getups between the data pins on the USB jacks, all fed in parallel by the 20A power supply.

I've had a heck of a time finding other people who've done this. I can only assume other people aren't as obsessed with fast charging as I am. Regardless, I don't have any examples to follow! I've only found one (poorly documented) project remotely similar to mine and he didn't make it high-powered. So my question is this: what am I doing wrong? I'm sure there's something I could do better. The project linked above has what I assume are filtering capacitors on each port. How do you select capacitors for filtering (type and capacitance)? Are they a good idea? Do they go on the + or GND side of the jack? Will perfboard be able to carry 2A for a centimeter or two without any problems?

Am I completely nuts?

Justinicus

Jan 17, 2014