Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Mosfet oscillating but not transistor

Hannes

Oct 11, 2015
Hi all

Im new to electronics and have 3 questions

1 mosfet n type transistors oscillate without any additional resistors caps or inductors if a centre tap coil is conneted to 5vdc + drain to one end and source to the other gate to negitive of power supply why?

2 this same circuit works perfecly om p9 battery and my home made pc power supply with vairable voltage controler from 1.5 to 11.5 volt (mosfer switches on after 2.7volts) but connect it to my pc (all in one Lenovo) makes the secondary coil's led flash a few times and then mosfet stops operating completely why?

3 what would be the best way of transfering power wirelessly from usb to phone Using a secondary coil that will fit between the battery and the cover even if i have to modify the cover to do so i also would like to turn off the circuit by lifting the phone ( possibly by means of a proximity sensor) and incorparate a charging system internaly for the circuit so that it acts as a wireless powerbank as well?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
please show us a circuit diagram. It will help us understand what you're doing.

Hannes

Oct 11, 2015
Thanx for the quick reply here it is just replace the pnp transistor with mosfet n type I used 50n06 got it from a old broken ups lying around after that used tip 35c ,tip41c, tip 36c and irfz244 only got the 2 mosfets working though

I also played around with resistors on the circuit from base to collector an collector and still did not get the tip transistors to work!

Attachments

• Circuit.png
    Circuit.png
    9.9 KB · Views: 145

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
that circuit will not work with a bjt because in the initial state the collector is more negative than the base and emitter.

Hannes

Oct 11, 2015
Okay thats where I reconed a resistor will defnetly be of utmost importance is there a way of doing it with say tip41c transistor?

(*steve*)