Maker Pro
Maker Pro

motorized Panoramic head

imme

Apr 14, 2010
Hi ,

I am a photographer and I do Panoramic photography. I use a panoramic head that takes images in different rows. Than I stitch all these images together to make a full 360 x 180 panorama.

I want to use stepper motors and micrcontrollers with my panoramic head to automate this process. I am not an expert on this. I need you people help in building it.

Project Details:

2 stepper motors. One for x axis movements and one for y-axis rotation.
microcontroller should take parameter inputs from user.
Parameters are

1. Total degrees/steps to be rotated by x-axis stepper motor.

2. The above total degrees defined will be completed in steps. Input for number of steps to move in one movement. For example if i have a 1.8 degree stepper and I want to define it should move 1.8 in one go or 3.6 or so so on in one movement.

3.After every above single movement it should delay and wait for camera to take image, write it on card etc. This input will be given in seconds.Than starts movements again and repeating till motor completes its x-axis movements defined in first parameter.

4. When x-axis motor completes its total degree/steps defined. Than y-axis motor rotates according to parameter defined. Yaxis movement is simply achieved by changing motor direction so no complication here.

5.When y-axis does its movement than x-axis motor starts repeating its row activity again.

6.Total number of y-axis movements defined by parameter. This parameter will be used to terminate this whole process too.

A microcontroller with small LCD taking parameters at the time of start. Is there anyone who wants to do it?

55pilot

Feb 23, 2010