Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Musicians Helper

TJrhythm

Feb 13, 2016
I have many guitar player friends who need repair for their amps.I'm well versed in electronics but would like to talk about common problems. Any input would be appreciated.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Your biggest problem will be getting paid for your services. How well do you barter? Oh, and welcome to Electronics Point, @TJrhythm!

TJrhythm

Feb 13, 2016
Hello, thank you for the welcome and prompt response. My plan is to keep my repairs and advertising small and word-of-mouth. As a drummer i can utilize my position to leverage and meet more locals who may hire me to play gigs.
Is there a good source for schematics and service info ?

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
... Is there a good source for schematics and service info ?
For as long as I can remember, there has been a publishing service, Sams Photofact, that sells service manuals, schematics, etc. for almost every make and model of TV, radio, and phonograph available in the USA. Google that phrase and visit my link. Back when there were still Radio and TV Repair Shops, you could purchase a Sams subscription and get periodic updates when new models were released. Here in Dayton OH there was an electronics parts supplier, Stotts-Friedman, who catered to Radio and TV Repair Shops. They had several file cabinets full of Sams Photofact folders (usually there were several different makes or models in each folder) from which they would sell individual folders... good luck if someone had already purchased the folder you needed, because then it would have to be ordered resulting in several days or weeks delay getting the service information needed to make a repair.