Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need fuse

Karthik rajagopal

May 9, 2016
243
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
243
Hi all,
Recently I made a AC to DC converter with a 12 -0-12v transformer with 1 ampere rating. Can I use a 1 ampere fuse on the secondary side? If not what should I use. Please help.
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,043
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,043
Hi all,
Recently I made a AC to DC converter with a 12 -0-12v transformer with 1 ampere rating. Can I use a 1 ampere fuse on the secondary side? If not what should I use. Please help.

depends on what you are going to power from the PSU ?
if the device is substantially less than 1A, then so should be the fuse

if the device will be approaching 1A, then a 1A fuse would be appropriate
 

Karthik rajagopal

May 9, 2016
243
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
243
depends on what you are going to power from the PSU ?
if the device is substantially less than 1A, then so should be the fuse

if the device will be approaching 1A, then a 1A fuse would be appropriate
What do you mean by approaching 1A?
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,043
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,043
1A fuse will protect the PSU, if you are going to have a smaller current drawing load then use a smaller rated fuse to protect the load

re-read what I said in my earlier post
 
Top