Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help designing / understanding this 'circuit'

Brad Hays

Sep 24, 2015
I'm a novice builder of whatever I can imagine with not a lot of formal training in electronics, but I follow directions well so I imagine I have a good chance of pulling this off with the right advice.

Here's the deal...

Keeping it simple, I need to turn on electricity to a 1500 watt device (heater) when a mechanical circuit I've made is closed. But I don't want to run 1500 watts through the wire I've used to create the mechanical circuit. so I'm writing in for advice on how I should go about doing this.

The design is that once air is ran through a vent, a flap is actuated which moves and creates contact with two wires, and I need to figure out how I can convert these two wires coming into contact into turning on power to a 1500 watt heater (without running 1500 watts of current through the two wires on the vent flap. So is what I'm talking about here called a 'relay?'

Like I was saying I'm now trained in electronics so I would need somewhat detailed instructions on how to go about making this happen.

Thanks for your time I'm all ears!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A relay (rated for mains voltage and enough current for your heater) is one simple solution. You connect the low voltage coil to the contacts of the flap using an appropriate low (safe!) voltage source. When the contacts of the flap close, this low voltage forces a current through the relay coil which in turn will actuate the contacts on the mains side.
The relay coil neds to be rated according to the low voltage you use for sensing the flap's state.

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014
If you need to keep your marijuana crop warm during the cold nights, you can go to your local hydroponics suppers as they have exactly what you need.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
A lever-actuated microswitch could do the job without the need for a relay or any electronics.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015