Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help... Dielectric Grease used in contacts

Corundum67

Jul 21, 2017
I work with equipment that has electrical connections Lemo, microdot and UHF, in a environment where the cables/connectors get wet. The cables are in motion with some stress on the connectors. Also the equipment is quite sensitive, and the developers of the equipment strongly recommended dielectric grease put directly on the connection points. These people have long retired and I can not get hold of them. I understand the reason why dielectric grease is used. To seal, protect, prevent arcing/shorting, prevent electrical noise, and to prevent current from going from one pin to its neighboring pin. What I need help with is finding a website/article the definitively defends the use of dielectric grease in such a case. I have only electronic/electrical knowledge specific to troubleshooting this equipment but only self taught. The people questioning the use of the dielectric grease are certified electricians, but not electronic engineers etc. I feel like David vs Goliath, any and all links/articles supporting the use would greatly be appreciated. Thank you!

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
One source of dielectric grease is Automotive parts suppliers, where the primary recommended use is spark plug shields to prevent ingress of moisture so it should serve the purpose in this case.
M.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
One source of dielectric grease is Automotive parts suppliers, where the primary recommended use is spark plug shields to prevent ingress of moisture so it should serve the purpose in this case.
M.

He knows and understands that ;)

He is after factual www sites / papers that back the good reasons to use it

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012