Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help downgrading amp to lower power

TortuousAugur

Jun 17, 2012
I have a pair of speakers from an old trashed stereo (wish I had kept the radio part of it now...) that I would like to build an amp for. The problem is, I have zero electric theory knowledge. I am a quick learner, and would probably be able to figure out what goes where, but I would need help with parts conversion to change the rated power output from what I am looking at (32w), to what the speakers say they can handle (12.5w & 25w, @ 6Ω).
I'm reading a little into an electric starter book, but trying to remember the equations and other math of it is loosing me.
I realize I am asking someone to do all my homework for me, and won't be mad if no one wants to help.

I was looking at a couple of instructable diagrams and parts lists, this one being what I would like to achieve, if possible. Would I have to make two separate amps to satisfy the different power ratings for the speakers?

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
If the speakers are a pair, they will have the same specification.

You will not damage the speakers if you drive with care and not use excessive volume.

To halve the peak power of the amplifier, reduce the supply voltage to 70% of that specified. Power is proportional to the square of the voltage. 0.7 * 0.7 = 0.5 roughly..

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
You may try simply placing a resistor in series with the speakers. I placed 49 ohms in series with my speakers and still have plenty of volume. This is not perfect, may add some distortion, but it is quick and easy, and it works for me.

alfa88

Dec 1, 2010
Duke's solution is exactly what I was thinking. A LM317 regulator will work nicely.

TortuousAugur

Jun 17, 2012
Each speaker is identical, yes, but each speaker has a normal speaker, and a lower frequency sub woofer speaker. The sub woofer speakers are the higher rated power pair.