Maker Pro
Maker Pro

NEED HELP old RC speed controller only works one direction

brandon hoppe

Apr 2, 2022
I have a first gen traxxas ruster and i am trying to get back into using it since the reverse broke 2 years ago and i stopped messing with it. I have isolated the problem down to the speed controller which when connected, only throttles the car forward. reverse does not work. i cant just buy a new one because everything on the car is 30 years old, and i would end up having to replace all of the electronics which would cost me like 200 dollars. (the cost of a basically entire new car) I am relatively new to the whole circuit stuff as i am just now learning to solder my own circuits so any info would be very helpful. Thx. the spesific speed controller model is the "XL1"

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
i cant just buy a new one because everything on the car is 30 years old, and i would end up having to replace all of the electronics which would cost me like 200 dollars.

Rubbish...there are plenty of brush type speed controllers out there for around the $20.00 mark with forward and reverse capability, even brake option.
You will need to know what size (current)
Those old cars usually ran a 540 size motor around 90w from a 7.2v nicad supply.
I converted one here to run on 2 x 18650 cells.

brandon hoppe

Apr 2, 2022
My motor is 550. Im worried about the connections for my reciver being wrong. Ive never done any mods like this before. Is there any spesific info that i need if im going to buy a new controller?

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Is there any spesific info that i need if im going to buy a new controller?

As I said above, (or did you not read my reply...??) you need to know the current draw of the motor.

If it's a competition motor it may well be up around the 30A mark but if a standard hobby back yard type then maybe less at around 15A.
It depends on the winding turns your motor has.
Wouldn't be all that much difference in price for the larger capacity esc.