Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with I hope simple project!

Tom Stark

Jun 15, 2014
OK, here is the deal. I am a machinist and fabricator, and have built some electronics, but am far better with machining. I need to build what I think will be a simple circuit for my motorcycle. I have an LED headlight that has 2 wires and 3 functions, high beam, low beam, and flashing. Each time the unit is powered on it goes to the next operation. So if I have the light flashing, turn the bike off, turn it back on it will be on high, then next time low, then back to flashing.
During the daytime it is hard to tell which mode it is in unless I get off the bike and look. So what I want to do is build a circuit that will light 1 of 3 LED's in the same manner. When tied together I can label the LED's so from the seat I can tell what mode the light is in. This would be most helpful to me. So the circuit would be grounded 100% of the time, and would see 12 volts only when the LED headlight sees 12 volts. I have no issue using low voltage LED's and resisting the 12 volts so they don't burn out.
OK, anyone have any idea how to do this? I would hope it would be easy, but really don't know! (that is why I am here!)
Thanks in advance! Any help greatly appreciated!
Tom

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The simple solution is simple. (well, if you want a single LED to be either bright, dim, or flashing) If you want one LED for bright, and another for dim, and another for flashing, that will be much harder.

The simple solution first:

You get a high brightness red LED and place it across one of the existing white LEDs with its own series resistor. This will divert a small amount of power from the white LED to the red LED.