Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with remote firework detonator

cmartin303

Apr 28, 2014
(NOTE: Please forgive my terminology, I'm not well versed with electronics lingo. This is my first project; I have a programming background so most of the logic is the same.)

Hey guys, I'm currently working on making a remote firework detonator using a walkie talkies. I've run into a problem that I'm not quite sure how to solve. What my plan was originally was to solder wires to the speaker output on the walkie talkies, and use a relay to switch on current from an array of four AA batteries. The power from the batteries would be enough to light the fireworks (I need about 6VDC - 12VDC).

I've soldered the wires to speaker outputs, but the voltage coming from them it very low (about .1 VDC); which is not enough electricity to trip the relay I have. I cannot find any lower voltage relays anywhere. Anyone have any other ideas to how I could accomplish this?

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
That is a really bad idea since it could be triggered by some other walkie talkie, or interference.

Bob

cmartin303

Apr 28, 2014
That is a really bad idea since it could be triggered by some other walkie talkie, or interference.

Bob

I know that is a potential flaw, but I am putting in an arming switch to mitigate that risk. The likely hood of someone using a walkie talkie in my area, at the same moment I'm going to be detonating fireworks are slim to none.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
I tend to agree with Bob. Walkie talkies are designed to allow kids to have fun, not to be a secure form of communication. And it's not just other walkie talkies that could trigger your igniter.

You could probably improve reliability by sending a specific signal, e.g. a tone at high amplitude, and implementing a delay at the receiver, so only a constant, loud signal for two seconds would trigger the igniter. Whether that would be safe enough, I don't know.