Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need professionally made circuits to control heaters using PWM and MOSFET

Eskay

Oct 8, 2015
Hi, this is the first time for me to post on this forum. Also, I consider myself a newbie in the electric circuit in general. I am a software engineer but also need to take a part in electronic design. This is a bit general question rather than specific one.

My project requires to use 1kHz PWM signal to control ceramic heater power. After some research, I was able to create a simple circuit board using resistors, MOSFET, diode, and perfboard. It is a basic circuit that can handle 1kHz pwm. The circuit is designed to support up to ~300W and it is working well. Our target is now changed to support heaters up to 1000W. I think I can achieve that by using a higher power MOSFET and heatsink. The project will be eventually integrated into a product which will be used by a customer.

There are many concerns though, to make further progress in this project. The reason is because no one is expert in electric design in the group including myself. There is no way to ship a product that includes my own soldered perfboard :p I believe there are many many companies out there who can:
  1. Create circuit board for me based on my design
  2. Create circuit boards for me based on my requirements (without me having to design circuit)
  3. Sell existing circuit boards that already do the same thing (because this particular circuit should be very basic).
However, I do not know where to start. I need this design to be 4 channels, so I can individually control 4 different heaters using individually controlled PWM signals. It means I need to 4 MOSFET circuits to be placed in a single board.

Please advise how I should make progress. Thank you in advance.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015