Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New guy... Equipment choices... Practice Boards.

wiretoptrvl

Jul 13, 2016
Hello all.

As I partially titled this thread, I am the proverbial "New Guy." I have come here to solicit opinions and ask a few questions. I hope you won't mind passing on a little knowledge.

I have very little - as in almost no experience building circuits and more important soldering. What little experience I do have was from about 30 years ago when I took a circuits introduction class at a local tech school. I did OK in the class, but almost all is forgotten now.

I have become a jack of all trades in my later years as I do anything that needs to be done around the house and/or garage. Not wanting to pay anyone for something I can (or should be able) to do myself.

After reading up on an issue I am having with my instrument cluster from a favored car, it seems that most of the problems with my cluster have been historically related to (a) bad capacitors and (b) bad solder joints. This according to the forum I frequent for my model car.

So, I have decided to do it myself...

Pursuing that path, I have ordered a rework station set... I searched Amazon until I found the set with a price I can live within, the highest rating, largest number of comments, and fewest complaints and this is what I settled on. I chose this one. I am hoping this is a complete set.

Specifications:
SMD Rework Station
  1. Brand: YiHUA
  2. Power Consumption: ≤800W
  3. Station: 853D
  4. Output Voltage: DC 0V~15V
  5. Input Voltage: 110V AC
  6. Working Environment: 0℃-50℃
  7. Pated Current: 6A
  8. Storage Environment: -20~80℃
  9. Acoustic Sound Level: <45db
  10. Load Stability: <0.01±2mv
  11. Temperature Coefficient: <300ppm/℃
  12. Ripple dB: <1mvrms(Virtual Value)
  13. Protection Current: 1A~3A(Optional)
  14. Cable Length: 52.36" / 133cm
  15. Dimensions: (10.03 x 7.48 x 4.92)" / (25.5 x 19 x 12.5)cm (L x W x H)
  16. Color: Black

Hot Air Gun
  1. Voltage: 220V / 110V