Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New Member, New to Electronics, Looking for some help!

Doc_K

Feb 3, 2015
Greetings everyone! I'm very new to the electronics world, and looking for some help. I recently purchased an Electronics for Dummies book, but the thing is huge that I'm trying to read the thing little, by little, each day.

My dilemma is, that I'm trying to find a way to run two 12V motors at the same time, with a remote relay, but I want them to spin simultaneously, but in a certain pattern of bursts. I want to be able to switch between two different patterns at the switch of a button. Is there a way I can do this, but keep it simple? Any help is a appreciated! I'd love to know where to start looking, or possibly some websites to buy quality parts from. Thank you!

Ian

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Few things you will need to clarify.
Size (current draw) and type of the 12v motors
Will the supply for the motors be at the same end as the motors or elsewhere.
Did you want wired remote or wireless
Don't know what you mean by (and others will be guessing also) "a certain pattern of bursts"
Is it necessary for the 2 motors to run at exactly the same speed

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Yeah. I think you need to supply more specific information about what you want to do.
I'm thinking you want something that rotates at a slow speed, as in some type of display. As opposed to motors running at a couple thousand rpm. (but we don't know that).
We need specifics to see if you need the motors sync'd in their rotations, geared-down, what exactly your pattern of bursts entails.
You don't need to be shy about telling us what you want to do. What people want to build on their own interests all of us.
The more specific you are, the better the flurry of ideas you'll get from people here.

Doc_K

Feb 3, 2015