Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New Product Prototype

Paul Barber

Jan 4, 2017
Hello everyone,

I am a complete newby to electronics (I am a plumber!!) so I am hoping someone maybe able to solve a few problems I am having. I am making a prototype for a new product that consists of a simple 3v dc buzzer, rechargeable 3.7v dc Lipo battery and a small dc relay on/off pcb controlled by a remote control handset with on/off button. (A bit like what you get with automatic gates or garage door.

The problem I am having is that due to the design of the product, once the electronics and battery are fitted inside the device, there is no way of ever being able to get to any of the components or isolate the battery with a simple manual on/off switch (like a remote controlled car has). This means that the battery life is very poor and the device is running dead, even when not in use, after 2 days. Is there anyway of prolonging the life of the battery by adding electronic components or have I got to fit an on/off switch?

Is it possible to have a switch that is operated by say a magnet? or remotely operated somehow? or could it be switched on and off from the charging point which is accessible?

Thanks for reading and all help much appreciated.

Paul

daberbaber

Feb 2, 2012