Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie: Help wiring 7 segment display

Arthur Yasinski

Jun 23, 2015
I bought the following MX035 7-segment display but I am very new to electronics and don't know how to wire it up. I soldered wires to each of the areas of the anode section of the board (A)....specifically defagbcpv

I thought I would be able to test the soldering by hooking the + from a 12V power supply to the "v" pin and then complete the circuit by hooking the gnd from the 12v ps to one of the other pins (e.g., "c"). My expectation was that the lower right segment would light up.

But nothing happens. :(

What am I doing wrong? Is the "v" pin not the common anode pin? and if not, what is?

I feel really stupid, so appreciate the assistance.
Arthur

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hello
I don't quite understand the diagram at the bottom of the datasheet, it looks like they have the polarity around the wrong way. But from what you have said you have down it correctly. What I did notice is above the picture of the segment it shows some jumpers that look like they need to be linked for it to work.
Adam

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I bought the following MX035 7-segment display but I am very new to electronics and don't know how to wire it up. I soldered wires to each of the areas of the anode section of the board (A)....specifically defagbcpv

I thought I would be able to test the soldering by hooking the + from a 12V power supply to the "v" pin and then complete the circuit by hooking the gnd from the 12v ps to one of the other pins (e.g., "c"). My expectation was that the lower right segment would light up.

But nothing happens. :(

What am I doing wrong? Is the "v" pin not the common anode pin? and if not, what is?

I feel really stupid, so appreciate the assistance.
Arthur
Can you give us a picture of the module?
I don't like the diagram in the lower left... and the 'jumpers' Adam mentioned look like it's just displaying the internal connections... I want to be sure.

ver chan