Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie here need help with a type of switch

Nate288

Dec 31, 2015
Hello
I'm fairly new to making circuits but I do have a small amount of knowledge as well as concept and could use some help with a project. I want to make a simple circuit a row of LED's with 2 push button switches (Switch 1=A? Switch 2=B IE a car door jamb switch) when A is pressed closing the circuit powers on the LED's and stays on till B is deactivating the circuit and resets A. basically I want to make something like how when a car door is open it turns on the courtesy lights but I want a push button switch to turn on the lights and when the door is closed it resets the push button so when the door is opened again the light only turns back on when the push button switch is pressed again. What kind of push button would switch A be? or do they even make such a thing? any help or info would be greatly greatly appreciated thanks and sorry if this seems a little unclear
Nate288

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Is this to be used in a car door or as just push buttons on a bench or whatever..?
Sounds to me like you only need one switch. Normally closed when the door is open.

Nate288

Dec 31, 2015
I want to use it in my jeep in the rear cargo area the stock dome light itself is manually operated as well as disconnected from the doors and doesn't light the back of the vehicle up. just wanted a cool project to add something a little different if it could be done

Nate288

Dec 31, 2015
and sorry to answer your question its to be used in the tail gate for the reset/cut off (the door jamb switch) and a mounted on switch in the cargo area

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
but I want a push button switch to turn on the lights and when the door is closed it resets the push button so when the door is opened again the light only turns back on when the push button switch is pressed again

OK. Best I can make of your request is the quote I have "cut-out" of the rest.