Maker Pro
Maker Pro

newbie looking for advice

DRamazo

May 22, 2013
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the entire field of electronics, as far as building things from scratch. I like to tinker, and I recently have found myself with a little extra time so I figured I'd try my hand at building electronic gadgets. I have an old Droid Bionic phone that I don't use anymore, and I was thinking I'd try taking it apart and harvesting the components. So I was wondering if anybody could help get me started.

First of all, I could use a rundown on whatever you guys might think of as "the basics." Like I said, I'd like to toy with this old cell phone so when I say basics, I'm referring to that field. Also, just any basic info that you think I should know.

If anyone knows of a tutorial about removing components from a Droid Bionic I'd appreciate a link.

I'm also completely open to suggestions for good newbie projects that will help build the skills I will need.

I have lots and lots of questions, but I won't ask them all right away. I look forward to hearing from everyone.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I hate to tell you this, but you are unlikely to find things that you, as a beginnger, can use in your old phone. These use very small surface mount components that are difficult to deal with and cannot be used at all without a PC board.

You would be much better off to buy older style "through hole" parts, the kind that have wire leads, and get a solderless breadboard to build circuits on.

Bob

PS. Welcome to the forum.

Raven Luni

Oct 15, 2011
Nothing wrong with harvesting and keeping for the time when you can use them :p

sirch

Dec 6, 2012
The phone is more use in working order, you could possibly use it in a project in future (or learn Android programming, write an app).

As BobK says you are better off buying a few components and a breadboard off EBay and making something like an LED light chaser, a door chime or a simple radio or whatever takes your interest.

DRamazo

May 22, 2013