Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Noise suppression problems attempting to to mate power amplifier with PC power supply.

kevinmount

Mar 25, 2021
Hello!

My name is Kevin, I am an engineer based in the UK. This is my first post on here.

I am developing a 7.1 power amp to fit inside a PC tower. I want to power it from the PC supply. I am having problems with the horrendous amounts of noise coming from the supply.

I have tried several ways around this (LC/LR filters etc) to little avail. At the moment I am using a "Bumper" 10A power line noise suppressor designed for automotive use. It has reduced noise somewhat but not enough. I should add, when the amp is powered by a "wall wart" supply, it all works very well indeed.

I am thinking of trying a low-noise LDO regulator next. Does anyone have any experience or knowledge of this kind of thing?

7.1amp.jpg

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Kevin, you might want to try a ground loop isolator rather than a power line noise suppressor.
Use it at the audio input.
I have several for a mobile disco and they work great.
upload_2021-3-25_12-53-11.jpeg
Martin

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
That would depend on what audio signals you have as inputs.
Are you using all 4 inputs for different audio devices?
I use an audio mixer with only one main output. But I use one for each laptop output to the mixer.

Martin

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Yes, I understand that.
Are you using each input with a device? ie, ipod on input 1, iphone on input 2, ps4 on input 3 etc.

Martin

kevinmount

Mar 25, 2021
No, this is an 8-channel (7.1) surround sound amp.

One input is front left/front right.
One input is side left/side right.
One input is rear left/rear right.
One input is centre/sub.

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Ok, but you still need an audio input from a device.
Do you have a pre-amp or sound card connected?.
How is this connected to the computer?.

Martin

kevinmount

Mar 25, 2021