Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Noob question about an external battery pack for my T2i DSLR

azzbla

Jan 24, 2014
Greetings!

I was wondering if you guys could point out if this idea of mine has a chance of working.

I'm going out hiking and I wanted to shoot a time lapse so I'd need a big battery. Just so happens I have a spare 12v battery lying around. I want to attach this 12v to 7.5v transformer to the battery, then attach the 7.5v to this external battery rig.

My main concern is this - will the 12v car battery have too much amperage capacity to fry it? The transformer has a capacity of 3 amps. Also, the AC power adapter that comes with the DSLR dc kit is only 2 amps. Will the DSLR fry due to too many amps hitting it? Or will the transformer/DSLR only pull what it needs and nothing bad should happen.

Should I include diodes or some other basic circuit parts?

I'm really new to these things so try to explain it like I'm 5 or something, thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
Your concern is legitimate, and most people just wouldnt care to even consider it.

But you are in luck, as long as the voltage is correct and you have safeties to ensure that the voltage reaching the camera is only going to be the 7.5 that it requires, it will only draw the current it needs.

Now you may want to add some safeties to the battery so that it doesnt get potentially completely drained which can possibly cause problems, but depending how long you are looking to run it you may not need to.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi azzbla
welcome to the forums

I'm going out hiking and I wanted to shoot a time lapse so I'd need a big battery. Just so happens I have a spare 12v battery lying around. I want to attach this 12v to 7.5v transformer to the battery, then attach the 7.5v to this external battery rig.

you have a few misunderstandings .... dont call it a transformer