Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Older Shunt Gear Motor and dc controller

bob63el

Oct 26, 2013
Hello. This is my first post. I'm a newbie to electronics and could use some assistance.

I have a project I am working on and it involves an old Bodine Gear motor I purchased on Ebay. The motor is rated at 115V DC .33 Amp 1/50HP Type NSH-12RH. Bodine tells me it is one of their older Shunt Wound DC Motors. I purchased a controller but it does not work. The controller is described as:

"This controller applies PWM to adjust DC motor speed, with short-cut protection, suitable for motor reversing frequently. And the armature voltage 0-110V continuously adjustable, so the speed controlling is high effectively. Thanks for the high frequency PWM, this controller will work well in low speed. This controller can be matched with: SZ series server motor, ZYT permanent magnet motor, J-SZ(ZYT) motor, KC motor.

The controller sounds like its intended for a Permanent Magnet motor. The seller of the controller believed it would work as long as the wattage of the motor was under 450W. I think he may have been wrong.

I the used an ohm meter to determine which of the 4 wires went to the armature and found that the blue pair had the lower resistance. When wired up the motor did make a small buzzing sound against the 4.7K pot used to control the motor speed. But did not work.

Either;
1) my motor is shot
2) wrong wiring on the controller
3) wrong type of controller.

I need an education on Shunt motors vs PM motors. Thank you in advance.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
A permanent magnet motor uses a permanent magnet (surprise, surprise) to supply the static magnetic field.

A shunt motor uses a winding to make an electromagnet. No field current, no magnet, no torque, no speed.