Maker Pro
Maker Pro

out of my depth!

urbantuckerman

Jul 28, 2013
hi, i'm a competent mechanic but frankly electronics are my weak point! I'm currently in France in my 1992 Ford transit. On the way here the fuel and temp gauges stopped working. A bit of research pinpointed the problem to a faulty (common) ballast. As i understand it this is basically a resistor which regulates the alternator voltage and prevents the gauges rising and falling with the engine revs. I've taken the gauges apart and found the component. It has 'aa ab-c2a 044269' printed on it.

I'm a bit impoverished at the moment and whilst i'll be able to replace the clocks cheaply in the uk i won't really be able to afford it until i get there. I also much prefer to fix things rather than throw them away!

can anyone please suggest a commonly available component i could solder in to replace the faulty part (i can manage that!).

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

NuLED

Jan 7, 2012
Are you sure you are asking on the right website? Maybe searching on some auto mechanic website would give you better results?

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
I think what you are looking at is a form of regulator for the gauges. It works with heat and it has a resistor wrapped around a bimetal strip that turns on and off. This would be a little difficult to explain fully but the bottom line is I think you need to get another one out of an old car. Maybe an auto mechanic website would help.

JMW

Jan 30, 2012
Google does not show any results for aa ab-c2a 044269.