Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Parallel Circuit - Fireworks Firing System

bluemarshall

May 30, 2012
Hi,

Just a heads up, I'm a noob when it comes to circuits so I could be asking a very complicated question and not know it, but I am technically savvy so hopefully if anyone does offer any help, I should understand an explanation easily enough.
So here is my problem:
I am building a push button firing system for a fireworks display. I have (let's say) 10 NO mom push switches wired in parallel from the +/- posts of a 12V 1700mA power supply. I attach one of the 10 parallel loops to an electric match, and when the loop is closed ( I push the button) the match lights instantly. If i push 2 buttons at the same time, the 2 matches do not go off. I am familiar with V=IR and P=IV and understand why this happens.
My question is:
How do you build a circuit that will supply each loop with 12V 1700mA regardless of how many buttons are pushed (loops are closed)? I realize that this will likely require a custom transformer, and capacitors for Potential storage, but other than that I figure I should ask some professionals.

firingCircuit.png

Sorry for straight outta Compton nature of my diagram I'm at work and I threw it together in photoShop

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
The first thing you must understand is that the 1700mAh is a not how much current the battery can supply at any given time, it's an overall capacity vs time rating... In short of it is that it can supply 1700mA for 1 hour... That isn't to say it can't supply 3400mA for ½ an hour or 850mA for 2 hours, or 50mA for 34 hours... BTW that is all perfect math, not real world drain times ;)

The internal resistance of the battery and the resistance of the circuit will dictate how much instantaneous current will flow...

In short get a battery that will provide more current in an instant to solve your problem... Something like a car battery...

Last edited:

bluemarshall

May 30, 2012