Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Parallel connection of BJTs ,constant DC supply

AshwinNambiar

Nov 11, 2014
I'm new to electronics .I'm trying to simulate a BJT circuit on MULTISIM(BC635) .What i require is to provide an input DC voltage of 50V ,create a BJT circuit such that my voltage at the output is stepped down or rather the current at output > current at input.SO essentially if i want to build a circuit where i want my current to increase it will be in parallel .
My questions are :
1.How do i connect two BJT s in parallel i.e calculating the impedance values and providing bias?
2.Is it possible to develop a design using BJT s where i get an exponentially decaying curve of an increasing current to a decreasing voltage.
Also point out if i'm going wrong in my approach
Thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
In essence, you parallel bjt's by connecting their bases together, their collectors together, and by adding emitter resistors such that the voltage drop across them at full current is large compared to differences in vbe. Practically this might be around 1v. It is also important that the transistors are in thermal contact. Generally it is sufficient to place them in the same heat sink.

I can't answer your other questions because your explanation of what you want is not clear to me. Perhaps you can tell us what you're trying to do rather than how you think it is done.

AshwinNambiar

Nov 11, 2014
I'm trying to create an electronic circuit based on the property of
ELECTRIC ARC (DC)which exhibits a decrease in voltage with an increasing current.The power is to be conserved,
SO trying to design a circuit where i give a constant DC supply and enable the circuit design such that my output current is greater than the input ,thus lowering my voltage at output which can hence give me a characteristic as desired.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010