Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Parameters needed to design a Butterworth filter?

Shivani tiwari

Sep 8, 2015
I wanted to design a butterworth bandpass filter for photoplysthemograph signals.I have bandpass and stopband frequency values..I know I need to know the passband and stopband ripple values too...but how can I calculate them when I am not sure about the order of the filter? Can the order of filter be chosen randomly?I am sorry I am new with the filter desgning process :(

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
This is a difficult one. You must decide what filtering you want and this will decide the type and complexity of the filter.
If I remember rightly, there should be no ripple with a Butterworth filter.
I have a book 'Electronic Filter Design' by Arthur B. Williams. I could look up a design depending on your specifications.
If the bandwidth is large, then a high pass and low pass filter should be used.
You could simulate a filter with a program such as LTspice.

P.S. What is a photoplysthermograph?

Shivani tiwari

Sep 8, 2015
If I use Butterworth low pas filter for a particular signal..I'll be needing passband freq, stopband freq as well as passband ripples and stopband attenuation in order to calculate the order of the filter.can uu please tell me how to determine the value of passband ripples and stopband attenuation if I have the values of passband and stopbamd frequencies.

LvW

Apr 12, 2014
If I use Butterworth low pas filter for a particular signal..I'll be needing passband freq, stopband freq as well as passband ripples and stopband attenuation in order to calculate the order of the filter.can uu please tell me how to determine the value of passband ripples and stopband attenuation if I have the values of passband and stopbamd frequencies.

Both parameters (passband ripple and stop attenuation) must be specified by YOU!
These parameters are determined by the specific application - sometimes passband ripple is allowed and sometimes not.