Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Passive low-pass filter

ElectricPotato

Feb 17, 2017
Hello, I just started learning about electronics so don't be too harsh on me if my question is stupid.
I wanna drive a subwoofer and since I'm a beginner I decided to use an pre-made amplifying board. That works wonderfully and at a decent volume but I figured out it would sound a lot better if I used a lowpass filter to cut off anything above 150Hz from the input signal first. I researched how to build a passive one and it turns out it's quite easy.
The filter itself works but it reduces my volume tremendously to the point I can barely hear it at max volume. I tried different combinations of resistors/capacitors that would get me the same cutoff frequency but it was still really quiet.
My attempts were 1kOhm resistor & 1uF capacitor, then I tried 1Ohm & 1000uF and some other values that have a cutoff frequency of roughly 150Hz.

Did I do something wrong and is there anything I can do to increase the volume while filtering?

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
First, you need to show us a circuit. We cannot assume what you did.

If you are using a 1K resistor in series with the speaker, or course it will reduce the volume to nothing. With a 10 ohm, it will still reduce it to less than half. The speaker itself would be the R in a first order RC filter, there would be no other resistor.

Bob

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
And it may be easier to place the filter before the amplifier, assuming the amplifier is for the subwoofer only.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016