Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PC PSU idle power consumption

fatman57

May 27, 2013
I am an amateur and currently building an HVAC system for my office. I am investigating fans for power usage - my question is about how much power the PSU will consume.

I have an ad hoc lab with a 450 watt PC PSU unit I converted to run standalone. I did not make this conversion for efficiency, more to have easy access to three different voltages.

However, during the exercise of measuring the power consumption of various fans I noticed the PSU itself was drawing a significant amount in relation to the actual power the fans were consuming. My setup was such:
  • In wall meter to measure entire power draw of PSU
  • Multimeter to measure amps and volts from PSU to fan
  • DC fan
I found that at idle (no load) the PSU was drawing around 24 watts. The fans I am looking into range an actual draw of between 1 to 28 watts at varying voltages.

So with that context in mind - should I expect this high draw from other power supplies (~24 watts as a baseline if the fan is not on)? I was planning to maybe switch between voltages to set the fan speed for my final setup, and I am sure if I buy for example a cheap 12v LED driver my idle consumption will be much lower - is this the type of route I should go down if I want to really lower the overall operating costs OR is my current PSU setup seriously draining too much power? It is an older PSU that I have converted.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Update: I may just end up purchasing a cheap DC Motor Speed Control Driver Board off flea bay for example - but my question about power supply idle consumption still stands.

I may also have just answered my own question - I plugged in a 5V 10Amp PSU I had and it only consumes around 4 watts at idle.

Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011