Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Photoelectric Switch for complete newb

Chase Standifer

Mar 12, 2015
Let me start off with saying that I am a complete newb when it comes to electronics. I understand the difference between in parallel and in series and I can solder slightly better than a 3 year old with his first set of crayons.

I have built a display cabinet with some LED light strips running off of a 8AA battery pack. I am wanting to add a photoelectric switch so that the LEDs turn on when the light is turned on in the room. I am assuming it is slightly more complicated than wiring a photoresistor or something into the circuit.

I saw the recent similar thread but what he wanted to do and the provided circuit was far more complicated than what I need. I would appreciate any help with ideas and the parts I would need to wire this up. Thanks in advance

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Essentially you need the photoresistor to turn on a transistor which will, in turn turn on your LEDs.

Take a look at the first part of this thread. In this thread they initially want light to turn off the LEDs, but it's a relatively simple change to reverse the behaviour. (in the end the behaviour is more complex, but look at sugestions in the first few posts)

It will give you an idea of the complexity (I think it's pretty simple)

Chase Standifer

Mar 12, 2015

I found this circuit on a video by Build Electronic Circuits which does exactly what I want. I have also found the parts used in the video. But will these resistors be correct for running two 16" LED light strips vs. one small LED bulb? Also there are two types of LDRs to order. One is 100mw and the other is 250mw, what is the difference there?

I believe I understand the way the circuit works but there are 1000000 choices for each of the different components and it has been awhile since high school physics and my history degree is useless here.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010