Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Power failure alarm

EdgarAndre

May 14, 2024
Hi, I am in search for help as i am a beginner in electronics. The circuit i want to build is an alarm for power failure with a two hour timer. . The diagram i include was generated by Chat GPT but it is not clear enough for me to place the components on a circuit board. That circuit is powered by a 9 volt wall plug power supply. A 9 volt battery is included to power the alarm. The timer alarm could also be adjustable. If you know of any kit available or references it would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 2_hour_alarm.png
    2_hour_alarm.png
    38.5 KB · Views: 7

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
1715692973150.png

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Your question is missing a *lot* of detail. What is the relationship between the timer and the alarm? Do you expect the battery to power the alarm for 2 hours? 2 hours is a loooong time for a 555 timer circuit; even the CMOS version would be iffy..

Rather than have us waste time trying to guess what a chat circuit might be trying to do, please describe what it is you are trying to achieve.

ak

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015

That circuit has several problems. Why is there a 10 K resistor in series with the beeper. That will make for a very quiet "alarm", if the beeper sounds at all.

Without connections dots, it is impossible to say if the circuit will even work.

It shows the 555 powered by only the battery. The bipolar 555 as indicated can draw up to 15 mA with the output in the low state. This is an unnecessary drain on the battery.

Why is the 555 configured as an oscillator?

Assuming certain pins are in fact connected, D3 will prevent the oscillator from running when AC power is available. But that is not what is required.

ak

Last edited:

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
High impedance input it beeps at 85 decibels after you hear it be you won't hear anything at all.,. If you're up close

Nope.