Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Power line adapters

R791945

Jun 19, 2015
92
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
92
Adapter A 350mb (at router)
Adapter B 350mb (at computer)
Adapter C 150mb (at second device)
B & C are linked to A

Assuming A is receiving a feed from the router of 56mbps what speed will be available from B and C?
My internet speed test from the computer is showing much lower speeds than at the router. I would like to exclude the powerline adapters as the cause.

Robin
 

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
838
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
838
.... And what are mb ? milibars? milibits ?
Did you try an ethernet connection with no wifis ?
 

R791945

Jun 19, 2015
92
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
92
I was referring to Mbps.
I am using powerline adapters instead of wifi.
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,351
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,351
You will get which ever has the lowest speed. Be it ISP, router or adapters in terms of up/dl speeds.
You may have 1Gb adaptors and dial up ISP connection.

Martin
 

Nanren888

Nov 8, 2015
623
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
623
Your configuration is not entirely obvious to me, but I guess if A-B is givng you 350MBytes per second, or was it bits?
and A-C was giving you 150 of the same, then B-C, if such routing is seimilar would give you no more than 150MBytes per second, if it must go B-A-C.
Does it go B-A-C?
What rate is the equipment spec'ed for?
 

R791945

Jun 19, 2015
92
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
92
This is a fuller explanation of my configuration:

I started with a couple of powerline adapters (A and B). They were paired together and so transmit up to 350Mbps which is their max rating. A is at the router and B at my computer in another room. I needed an extra single powerline adapter to access the output from the router because I have added a VOIP phone to my LAN. For that I used a single powerline connector (C) rated at 150Mbps. I paired it to A not to B.

Martin commented above at #4 (you will get which ever has the lowest speed. Be it ISP, router or adapters in terms of up/dl speeds.). I take that to mean that all receiving units in a star will be only able to receive at the slowest adapter speed ie 150Mbps, subject of course to the speed of the router.

Is it more efficient to pare the additional one to B not A as a daisy chain (A->B->C) rather than the existing star setup? Would that give B a higher connection rate to A say 350 instead of 150 being the lower speed of the third powerline adapter?
 
Last edited:

Cirkit

Oct 28, 2015
146
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
146
Are you plugging any of the power line adapters into power strips or surge protected sockets? They should be plugged into socket outlets directly. Also, do you know if all the adapters are on the same electrical circuit/breaker?
 

R791945

Jun 19, 2015
92
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
92
They are on the same circuit breaker, and plugged directly into the sockets. Is there any particular reason why they should not go into power strips?
 
Top