Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Powerbank power on switch

Koenneok

Jan 29, 2024
Hello everyone,
I’m relatively new to the electronics hobby and I’m working on a power bank using some 18650 cels a bms 2 thermos switches/fusses, a better percentage display and 2 12v car chargers. Iad first I forgot to add a on off switch but most power banks don’t use a on off switches but a momentary switch. And this is also the route i made before accident. So before i go and buy the correct switch I want to try it with the momentary one but i have no clue how to or what to search for. Hopefully somebody here that can point me in the right direction or has som advice/Experience.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
Welcome to Maker Pro! :)
And this is also the route i made before accident
I'm happy you got here as quick as you could because now you're just on time for your second accident.
using some 18650 cels a bms 2 thermos switches/fusses, a better percentage display and 2 12v car chargers.
Can you show a photo of your setup.
you cannot use 12 volt lead acid battery chargers for lithium-ion batteries independent of a battery management system.
Would you happen to have a link to those as well,thank you.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
So before i go and buy the correct switch I want to try it with the momentary one but i have no clue how to or what to search for.
What kind of switch you can use depends on the charger/battery management module you use.
If the module has an option for a momentary on/off button, you can use any momentary pushbutton you like.
If the module does not have an option for a momentary on/off button, you can't use one. You will then have to resort to an alternate switch or a toggle switch.

Koenneok

Jan 29, 2024
Sorry, I meant a cigarettes charger. The charger you use In a care. So from my Battery pack it goes trough the bms to the 12v sigaret charge that is acting as my output to my phone or laptop.