Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Powering a wireless door chime transmitter.

hamer

Feb 16, 2018
Hi guys,

I have just registered on the forum and I'm not really an electronics techie.
I have a situation with a wireless door chimer transmitter where it seems like the actual transmitter/bell push eats A23 12volt batteries for fun ie a battery lasts about 3 weeks.
I am considering powering the transmitter with a 12 volt power pack but I am wary as to not connect it directly without some kind of simple circuit/resistor in line. Is this feasible and if so, can someone guide me as what I need to do.
I have also read a post on another forum that a guy has substituted the A23 with a 9 volt alkaline battery to a garage door remote control transmitter with favourable effect. Is this method safe as to not damage the transmitter?

Thanks for reading. I look forward to your replies/comments

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
I do not think that a bell push should consume any current when the button is not pressed. Can you measure the current when the button is released and when pressed.

If the device runs on a 12V battery, then a 12V DC power supply will do but make sure it is 12V not way above. Also connect the right way round.

Last edited:

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
What is "a power pack"?
A battery lets the transmitter be portable. A wall wart power supply must be plugged in and does not have a regulated output voltage that might be 18V with the small amount of power used by the transmitter. 18V is much too high.

We don't know if your transmitter will work from a 9V alkaline battery and for how long. Use eight 1.5V button battery cells that are larger than the tiny ones in an A23 battery.

hamer

Feb 16, 2018
I do not think that a bell push should consume any current when the button is not pressed. Can you measure the current when the button is released and when pressed.