Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Press on press off

outinthewoodsnf

Nov 30, 2020
Hi,
I'm no expert in electronics, I'm hoping that someone can help me..I have a Dewalt line laser that I want to come on when power is put on the leads from the battery terminals, & shut off when power is removed.. switch is a press on/press off type so I presume that there is something acting as a relay on the pcb. I'm wondering if I could solder a jumper across the terminals to have it come on automatically when power is switched on?..I noticed some 2302, & one 652DHR transistor on the board..Which of these does the switching, & would anyone happen to have a pinout for the 10 pin 652DHR? Thanks

Frankchie

Nov 14, 2017
Soldering a jumper across the switch will likely turn the unit on when power is applied, but without a schematic it's impossible to tell if that is a completely trouble free solution. IOW, keeping the switch permanently on via a jumper might have some adverse consequences.

Alternatively, assuming a DC voltage and a single pole switch, an electrolytic capacitor across the switch terminals would act like a jumper wire as it charges up when power is applied and when fully charged would appear as an open circuit. Kinda mimicking a momentary switch. Of course you need to install the cap according to polarity. Without more information it's impossible to predict the capacity value needed, but probably the biggest value that fits in the space would be a good starting point. You might have to install a resistor across the cap to bleed off the charge between power cycles. The higher value the better to avoid any potential circuit interference.

BTW, are you sure that simply leaving the unit on between power cycles does not work?

outinthewoodsnf

Nov 30, 2020