Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Problems with iPhone 5V car power supply

sacher

Jan 16, 2018
Hi, since I'm new to this forum I would like to first introduce myself.
I'm from Rome, Italy (so please be patient with my english!) and I'm a total beginner in the electronics field.

My first tread concerns the possibility to use my old phone as a localization device for a friend motorbike (anti-theft device).
We would like to use an old iPhone GPS-Glonass module to track the bike position.
The only problem is to keep the phone constantly connected to the bike 12V battery to ensure a proper battery life. We decided to buy a 12V to 5V converter and a standard USB charging cable (a cable with a USB Type "A" connector on one side and an Apple's proprietary Lightning connector on the other). The idea was to cut-out the USB connector from the cable and to connect the red and black (+5v and GND) wires to the adapter, leaving the white and green wires unconnected. In my mind the all thing looked like an easy task!
Unfortunately, the "thing" is not working: the phone is not showing the expected signal of "charging status" when connected.
Attached you can find a picture of the adapter and the cable.
Can someone please help me to understand whats happening? I read that the Lightning connector uses a couple of integrated circuits inside the small plastic body. Probably this could be the reason for my problem. Is there a workaround for this?
Thank you very much
Simone

Attachments

• Foto 16-01-18, 12 27 52.jpg
    Foto 16-01-18, 12 27 52.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 124

sacher

Jan 16, 2018