Maker Pro
Maker Pro

pulse 2kV on 12V battery??

Status
Not open for further replies.

corvus_four

Dec 16, 2014
I've got one for you folks, which I can't seem to find any info on.

what is the effect of high voltage AC (say 2kv), low current, on a 12 volt lead acid battery? Danger of the spark igniting the hydrogen aside, what would happen if my sealed lead acid batterys were to receive pulsed ac at 2+kv on their positive terminal?

just some context, I want to use the spark to close a 12 v. charging circuit at high frequency.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
We have had another member talking about this a short while ago.
I don't like it... You can't control voltage and current at the same time...
You can control one... and shut down or stop when the second value is met or exceeded.
So the 2kV may produce a higher than expected current.

corvus_four

Dec 16, 2014
I have a nagging feeling as well, but being self taught i'm trying to find more info before testing it. What do you think would happen? (it must be an absurd idea, as there is no info on it!).

my multi battery charger design is simply a flywheel that carries +12 v. Rather than have physical connections to the batteries (which slows the wheel down), I can keep it spinning freely by using a HV spark to make the 12v connection. now you guys get to tell my why this is a bad idea!

p.s. could you point me to that thread you speak of, what did they decide?

corvus_four

Dec 16, 2014