Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Quartz Halogen Lights - New Transformer - Lights now dim

GL1100A

Jan 31, 2021
Hello. Newbie here with what might be a simple question. Kitchen range hood with quartz halogen lights. The transformer for the lights failed. The failed transformer was 120/1 volt in & 50 watts out. I could not locate a 50 watt unit so I purchased as 120/1 volt in 60 watts out transformer and installed it. Now lights come on but are extremely dim. I would have thought that a 60 watt unit would allow the lights to operate at their normal wattage capacity. What am I missing? Thank you in advance.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
What is a
120/1 volt
transformer?

Transformers as I know them are rated by input voltage vs. output voltage (e.g. 120 V / 12 V). Halogen lights typically operate from 12 V, so a 120 V / 12 V transformer would be what you need.
I would have thought that a 60 watt unit would allow the lights to operate at their normal wattage capacity.
Right. As long as the power drawn (50 W) is less than the power the transformer is rated for (60 W) all should be good.
There are 2 options:
- Bad transformer. Can you measure the output voltage of the transformer when the lights are on and off?
- Bad wiring. From your phrasing I take it there is more than 1 lamp. Have you accidentally wired them in series instead of parallel? Halogen lamps are normally wired in parallel.

Make and model of the old and new transformer? Can you supply a picture of the old and the new transformer? Maybe of the wiring (only useful if the wiring is clearly visible).?

GL1100A

Jan 31, 2021