Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Quick op amp question?

24Volts

Mar 21, 2010
Hello,

I have very little experience with op amps. I know how to calculate the voltage outputs of a differential, non inverter and inverter op amp circuits.

But can someone explain to me in a simple sentence as to why it is important to be able to calculate the common mode gain and the differential mode gain?

Up to now, I never needed to use:

Vout = Acm x Vcm + Ad x Vd

to calculate vout!! Also can someone explain simply what is the common mode gain and the differential mode gain?

thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Common mode gain is what you would get if you tied both inputs together and applied a signal to them. The output (ideally) would not be affected.

Differential gain is where you apply a signal so that is appears across the two inputs. This is the normal way, and you expect *huge* variations in the output.

Incidentally, negative feedback can be thought of as providing a small amount of the output to the inverting input so that it is brought to the same voltage as the non-inverting input.

For many practical purposes, it is a good starting point to assume the differential gain is infinite and the common mode gain is zero.

For 99% of simple circuits, that's enough.

You won't generally find the common mode gain specified on datasheets, but you will find the CMRR (or Common Mode Rejection Ratio). This has a mathematical relationship with that gain.

See the Wikipedia page for the math.

Gain generally becomes important when it is substantially less than infinity.

Of course it's always less than infinity, but if the difference in performance calculated for infinite gain vs that actual gain is insignificantly different, we can ignore it.