Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Raspberry Pi BB Target

blane

Jan 5, 2016
Hi Folks,

Im new to electronics and was looking to create a little project.

I have experience coding php, html, java etc and just got a raspberry pi for xmas.

I had an idea to create a little bb target for use in the airlift range.

The idea is that when the target is hat, an led will light up red then a second hit will register orange, then a third will be Green.

After a little research i have found that some piezo elements mounted on some hard plastic should do the job. That being said i am completely new to electronics so if you could let me know what else i would need to create the target.

Thanks in advance

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi Folks,

Im new to electronics and was looking to create a little project.

I have experience coding php, html, java etc and just got a raspberry pi for xmas.

I had an idea to create a little bb target for use in the airlift range.

The idea is that when the target is hat, an led will light up red then a second hit will register orange, then a third will be Green.

After a little research i have found that some piezo elements mounted on some hard plastic should do the job. That being said i am completely new to electronics so if you could let me know what else i would need to create the target.

Thanks in advance
Break it down into blocks first.

You need:
-The sensor.
-Method to read the sensor. (Note... connecting piezzo element directly to Pi may damage it! piezzo elements can create very high voltages)
-The brain. You need to monitor inputs and deal with outputs. This will be your Pi.
(Note... when running an OS like Linux on the Pi, you loose the ability to very quickly detect changes in the pins. There are work arounds. The Pi is used for more processor intensive tasks. Microcontrollers are used for simpler tasks like this one. Both will work though!)

blane

Jan 5, 2016
Break it down into blocks first.

You need:
-The sensor.