Maker Pro
Maker Pro

RC car + Arduino help please

dwreck

Aug 19, 2012
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to Arduino and I've been playing with it for a while now. I have a small RC car that I'm using as a base. I also have a Sharp IR proximity sensor for input so that when the sensor detects an object, the car's motor starts rotating. I've managed to get this to work but my problem is it seems that the motor only rotates when the back wheels are not touching the ground. The motor has a separate power source (4.5V). When the back wheels are in contact with the ground surface, the car either doesn't move at all or moves only a little. It works perfectly when I hold it up.

I'm not exactly sure what the problem is with it. Have any of you ever encountered something like that and possibly know what the problem is?

I look forward to reading your replies. Thanks in advance.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
It's a lack of torque, the motor is starved for power...

Specifications of the circuit driving it and the motor would be helpful as well as the power source...

dwreck

Aug 19, 2012
I'm using this circuit connected to one of the PWM pins on the Arduino.

http://tinypic.com/r/34dkb48/6

The motor is being powered by 4.5V, which is separated from the Arduino's 9V. And the motor is just a normal DC motor that you'd find in a cheap RC car.

It works perfectly when I hold it up.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The arduino on its own can supply around 20mA, and that's likely to be insufficient to drive any load.

You should use the arduino output to switch a transistor on and off that will then drive the motor. You also need to place a reverse biased diode across the motor to prevent damage to nearby components. Arduino forums might have more specific help.

wingnut

Aug 9, 2012
Hi - I am fairly new to Arduino and PIC and driving motors from these.