Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Really need help!

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
I am building a rotating lure dryer and have got a motor a speed controller and a power supply but I cant get the motor to work with the speed controller. The motor works on a battery and the speed controller works on my power supply but they wont work together! I ordered a DC power supply and was sent an AC one. The speed controller is apparently DC according to the chinese ebay description lol and I have no idea what the motor is.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
Start by giving us the part numbers and showing us how you connected the parts.
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC6-60V-...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-DC-5...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

119121202_624491381764347_4685038716552706383_o.jpg
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
those are the parts I got from ebay and they are wired as labelled on the speed controller. The power supply has an adapter that takes wires as in the ebay pictures.
 

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,792
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,792
Hello,

The power supply has AC input.
The power supply is 12 Volts DC on the output.
Connect the power supply this way to the controller:

james connections.png

Bertus
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
have no idea what the motor is.
Obviously DC as it works from a battery.
I ordered a DC power supply and was sent an AC one.
Useless. You'll need a DC power supply rated at the same voltage as the motor (in the range 6 V ... 60 V for the controller to work).
the speed controller works on my power supply
How do you know? Definitely not if it is an AC supply as you mentioned elsewhere.
But the link points to a DC supply.
I'm confused :(.

Try the speed-controller with the battery to ensure the issue is not with the speed controller.
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
Obviously DC as it works from a battery.

Useless. You'll need a DC power supply rated at the same voltage as the motor (in the range 6 V ... 60 V for the controller to work).

How do you know? Definitely not if it is an AC supply as you mentioned elsewhere.
But the link points to a DC supply.
I'm confused :(.

Try the speed-controller with the battery to ensure the issue is not with the speed controller.
The speed controller works on the battery. The power supply has AC written on it lol
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
Looks like.
This kind of power supply usually is DC, even te one you suspect being AC seems to be DC as the power controller "works".

The controller alone of the controller plus motor?
the motor will work on the battery and the controller will work on the battery but when you wire all 3 together only the speed controller will work. Do you think it could be a bad connection between the controller and the motor?
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
would the wire I used to link the controller to the power supply make a difference? they are from and old 110 lead I had.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
only the speed controller will work
You keep repeating that the speed controller does work. How do you know? Did you measure at the motor output connection of the controller? Even if the display lights up and is controllable by the potentiometer, this does not necessarily mean that the controller works. The power transistors at the output may be defect, for example.
would the wire I used to link the controller to the power supply make a difference?
The wires you show in your picture are good enough
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
when you put it like that I have no idea if it works. Is there a way an idiot like myself could test it LOL
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
Measure output voltage with a voltmeter. Or connect a 12 V lamp to the motor output. Just to see there's output voltage present.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
Silly question: have you tried the start/stop button? Ensure it operates freely and isn't stuck.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
12,884
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
12,884
I'm out of my wits :(
One more thing to try: connect the motor and the lamp in parallel to the driver's output. Will the lamp still dim with the setting of the potentiometer?
 

james.50cal

Sep 12, 2014
56
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
56
I will try that now but could the motor be a higher voltage? would that cause it to not work? I didn't buy the motor, it is one I have had for a long time.
 
Top