Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Recommend UK calibration service please?

terryn

Oct 27, 2017
I'm looking to get a couple of DMMs calibrated (HP34401a and Fluke8842a).

Can anyone recommend a good service please? Not too expensive as I'm a home engineer (hobbyist!).

Thanks

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
I don't know of anyone that's cheap.... but I'd ask the question why?

It is possible to purchase some pretty accurate voltage reference units that would offer accuracy better than 0.1% which would, for a hobbyist, be more than sufficient. These are based on now very common industrial calibration devices that can be relied upon. IIRC Practical Electronics had a project offering such - I built one for the sum total of around £10!

If you then purchase a 0.1% (or better) stable resistor you can derive a 'standard' current and resistance !!

Unless, of course, you have a particular requirement for accuracy exceeding 0.1%?

Here's the datasheet for the active device it's built around

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/48068/AD/AD584.html

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
The HP34401A has no "mechanical calibration" inside it .
The manual does recommend calibration at least once every 2 years.
This is mandatory if your meter has been repaired!
If not,in practice you can do it yourself through the extensive "self test".
Read about it in chapter 4 of the 34401A service guide .

Once you have one trusted meter ,you can compere the readings to any other one you have and verify calibration of all your other meters.http://www.keysight.com/upload/cmc_upload/All/34401-90013-mla2.pdf
i.e. if you do decide to send your DMMs out for calibration(I agree with the folks here who say you don't as a hobbyist ),you need to send just one,the most accurate one!

BTW,
these 2 DMMs aren't exactly the 4$ hobbyist type;)

terryn

Oct 27, 2017