Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replacement micro switch for my mitre saw

SwitchSearcher

Jul 12, 2020
6
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
6
Hello all,

I have been looking everywhere for a replacement micro switch from my Wickes mitre saw. Anyone know where I can find one (see attached photos)? Any help would be appreciated!

Kind regards,

aa.jpg bb.jpg
 

Attachments

  • aa.jpg
    aa.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 1

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,411
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,411
There are tonnes out there here.

Some have the same foot print while others have a metal tab that pushes the switch. That tab can be removed.

You can try and open your switch and clean it.

Martin
 

SwitchSearcher

Jul 12, 2020
6
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
6
Thanks for the quick reply! I'm looking for one that has the same stats. I don't much about the subject - 10(10)A 250v / 15(15)A 125V. It also needs to have the same footprint and connectors. Thanks again.
 

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,797
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,797
Hello,

What are the physical dimentions?

Bertus
 

SwitchSearcher

Jul 12, 2020
6
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
6
From the manufacturer's website
img200711294651.gif
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,411
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,411
Also try here.

The manufacturer didn’t give the size specs.
Wickes own brand would use OTS (off the shelf) cheap parts. Nothing OEM there.
Take the switch to an electrical wholesaler like TLC or CEF.
We use these types of switches all the time with built in cupboards with lights inside.
You can use a different footprint and ‘pack’ the plastic moulding. Is this the main power switch for your mitre saw?, you could buy a soft start with speed control and adapt the housing to fit.

Martin
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,287
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,287
Microswitches are generic parts. If you find one with the right mounting-hole size and spacing there's a good chance the other dimensions and ratings will match your switch.
 

SwitchSearcher

Jul 12, 2020
6
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
6
All great advice, thank you everyone! So, to confirm, I need the rating to be the same as or above 250V10A / 125V15A and has roughly the same footprint?
 

DIYrep

Dec 7, 2022
1
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
1
I also need to replace the same switch on my Wickes saw. Did you get one that worked in the end? Where from?
 

SwitchSearcher

Jul 12, 2020
6
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
6
I also need to replace the same switch on my Wickes saw. Did you get one that worked in the end? Where from?
Hi DIYrep,

I ordered these two switches from Ali Express and one of them worked, can’t remember which. I don’t have the saw anymore. Hope that helps.
 

Attachments

  • D93B843D-2FA0-4AF5-BF82-C1EC0A2CED40.jpeg
    D93B843D-2FA0-4AF5-BF82-C1EC0A2CED40.jpeg
    133.6 KB · Views: 5
Top