Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Retro-fitting elevator display

Jacques Nel

Nov 16, 2016
Howzit Guys.

I am a Heavy Current Electrical Engineer but I've always been a fan of electronics and what they can do.

I recently started playing with display units (salvaged from elevators).
I then set up a basic 24V circuit where I can basically switch 3 switches on and off, sending 24V to wherever my heart desires:).

Now this sounds very basic at the moment but my plan is to use this ability of switching voltage on and off to operate a elevator display. For testing purposes the basic elevator display (FLOOR 1, FLOOR 2, ect) will be used.

My problem is finding a device that can take the signal/signals (planning on 3 X +24V inputs and a common) to convert these inputs into a signal that the display can understand (Think the display uses CANbus usually).
Is there a device available that I can use to manipulate my 24Vdc into sending signals to my display?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanking you in advance

Wakoli Chokeli

Nov 16, 2016
If the signal entails/contains deferent custom signal e.g digital, then you can use a micro-controller with unlimited possibilities. Otherwise depending on the nature of the display you can directly regulate the voltage and send it. The following states/messages can be sent: 000,111,100,110,101,010,011,001,011 even without a micro-controller, and then you choose what to do using the display unit e.g assigning Floor numbers and Lift direction. Since am not informed of the nature of the display unit, I cant directly advice a ready made device from the market. Nevertheless you can send me more details about the whole system and will get you a definitive answer.

Jacques Nel

Nov 16, 2016