Maker Pro
Maker Pro

rotate encoder volume problem

alabora

Jul 28, 2023
6
Joined
Jul 28, 2023
Messages
6
Hello my masters,

I changed the encoder on the radio control panel of my ford fiesta vehicle. The old encoder was amplifying attenuation but not on off. The encoder I just installed worked on the opposite side, but it does not do the sound reduction and amplification in any way. Looking for advice from my masters

I am also attaching the original encoder pictures20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123240.jpg20230719_123258 (1).jpg20230719_123306 (1).jpg20230719_123306.jpg20230719_123314.jpg20230714_141941.jpg20230714_142019.jpg20230714_142008.jpg20230714_142028.jpg
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,593
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,593
Welcome to maker.pro.
Clearly the replacement encoder is not an exact match for the original, so perhaps the pinout is different?
 

alabora

Jul 28, 2023
6
Joined
Jul 28, 2023
Messages
6
Welcome to maker.pro.
Clearly the replacement encoder is not an exact match for the original, so perhaps the pinout is different?
Thank you. yes, the pinouts may be different, but I can't find the original encoder. Is it possible for me to make any corrections for the encoder I just installed?
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
2,033
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2,033
Behold! Your master need to know...
the make , the model, the year ,
of your chariot (Ford fiesta) .
You have been granted three wishes. choose wisely.
(No lottery numbers!).
 

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
6,514
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
6,514
Is it possible for me to make any corrections for the encoder I just installed?
Perfectly. Isolate the three traces coming from the rotary encoder then hard-wire the connections according to the 'correct' pin-out.

If the old rotary encoder is only suffering from on on-off problem (push-to-select) then bend back the four locating tabs on the bottom of it to expose the push-button contacts inside it. You could clean them up and replace the thing or even swap the parts from the old to the new (or vice versa)
 

alabora

Jul 28, 2023
6
Joined
Jul 28, 2023
Messages
6
Perfectly. Isolate the three traces coming from the rotary encoder then hard-wire the connections according to the 'correct' pin-out.

If the old rotary encoder is only suffering from on on-off problem (push-to-select) then bend back the four locating tabs on the bottom of it to expose the push-button contacts inside it. You could clean them up and replace the thing or even swap the parts from the old to the new (or vice versa)
I disassembled the old encoder, the spring inside is broken and unfortunately there is nothing to be done for the spring. i have no choice but to buy a new encoder
 

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
6,977
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
6,977
Looks to me like any old run-of-the-mill rotary encoder with a switch such as that below either as a module on a pc board or separate unit.

Don't know what all this other attenuation and amplifier guff you are on about is referring to, nothing to do with a rotary encoder.

Pinout below looks the same to me.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/193237882542

Shaft might be a bit different to yours, nothing a bit of mod won't cure.
 

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
6,977
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
6,977
Can't you make a new spring from some suitable springy material?
Have you actually seen the insides of these miniature devices....?
Good chance it's guts has been destroyed by getting it apart to begin with.
Maybe if ones job was swiss watches......completely new rotary encoder is a tad over $2.00 for crying out loud.
 
Top