Maker Pro
Maker Pro

sampling communication lines without interfering the signal

Hermy

Jul 12, 2014
Hi guys,

i'm pretty new on this discussion board and i'm not sure if my question is in the good section. i'm a hobbyist, so trying to keep things simple and cheap.

i would like to use Arduino to sample (eavesdrop) on a hotshoe communication cable of a flash cable (camera to flash) so that i can intercept the the data packets used in the communication protocol.

by just tapping into the cables via a breadboard and sampling the line voltage state via
Code:
  pinMode(PIN_IN_HOTSHOE_CLOCK, INPUT);
i notice that the camera does not recognize the flash attached, and the flash does not recognize the flash trigger signal that is being sent.

therefor. are there electronic schema's that allow the sampling of the line state without interfering on the cable
(e.g. pulling the line low or high)

one thing to note here is, the communication is bi-directional, so an opto-isolater would not work.

thx in advance for pointing me into a good direction!

H.

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
I am not familiar with the Ardunio but if it inputs are the same as a micro then you should be able to connect straight to the data lines. But how the data is transmitted I dont know, is it just clock and data? You may need the clock also to work out the data.
Adam

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Just looked up Hotshoe. Does it use data or is it a level? I noted you said data packet.
Adam

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
As long as the data line voltages are within the Arduino's power rails, and the I/O connections go straight to the AVR pins with no other components involved, connecting the Arduino to the data lines shouldn't cause a problem. It will add a little bit of capacitance but that should be all. Make sure the pins are set to input mode!