Maker Pro
Maker Pro

seeking explanation on basic led flashing circuit

stuzero

Dec 14, 2014
cw1.jpg
hello,

im new to electronics and i would like to understand a simple circuit im building as shown below:
it's led flashing circuit using 2 transistor Q1 npn and Q2 pnp. my question is why the transistors would ever go off at all. i think the circuit may seem very basic to every electronic people as it could be found anywhere. still i think the circuit could be stable at both transistors ON and no flashing?

if i try using ideal transistor for Q1 on circuit wizard simulation, it won't flash. (Q1 could still ON with base current about 1 uA from the 5M base resistor without capacitor feeding current, right?) flashing occurs only if i use realistic Q1 model such as 2N3904. so there is some realistic behavior that i miss? anyone pls help explain or pls point me a reference that i should study to understand why this works.

thank you for helping with this very basic question.
stuzero

cw1.jpg

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Old blokes like me find something small like that to be a bit hard to read.....:)

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Last edited:

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
So , what is the difference between "ideal" and "realistic" ....just curious..o_O

stuzero

Dec 14, 2014
after browsing thru above places. i still dont quite get the concept:
re: http://www.paia.com/bckit1/theory.asp
"once our 2N4401 transistor is turned on, we use it to turn on a second transistor, providing more amplification and the correct voltage swing to help shut off the capacitor's base voltage for the 2N4401 transistor. When the second transistor turns on, that transistor tries to connect the battery cell V+ to the speaker wire. When that happens, the voltage on the speaker wire is pulled up. This also jerks up the capacitor's other leg which is connected to the speaker wire.